ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability is a global network working with more than 2,500 local and regional governments committed to sustainable urban development.


ICLEI World Secretariat
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn

ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability is a global network working with more than 2,500 local and regional governments committed to sustainable urban development.

ICLEI Regional Secretariats and country offices

29 January 2024

ICLEI elects regional leadership


ICLEI has recently completed the election of its Regional Executive Committees (RexCom) through a democratic process that spanned eight months, from mid-May 2023 to mid-January 2024. The RexCom, representing ICLEI Members in each of the nine ICLEI regions, is elected based on the principle of “one Member, one vote.”

These committees play a crucial role in defining ICLEI’s strategy in their respective regions, as well as appoint a representative to the ICLEI Global Executive Committee (GexCom). Collectively, the nine ICLEI RexCom form the ICLEI Council, which represents ICLEI Membership, shapes and approves ICLEI’s global strategy, and is the only body that can amend the association’s statutes.

The next step will be the election of the ICLEI Global Executive Committee by the ICLEI Council, with the formal presentation of the elected committees taking place during the ICLEI World Congress, from 18 to 21 June 2024 in São Paulo, Brazil.


ICLEI Africa Regional Executive Committee

Mr. Ernest Arthur – Mayor, Cape Coast, Ghana
Ms. Regina Bakitte Nakazzi – Mayor, Nansana, Uganda
Ms. Chilando Chitangala – Mayor, Lusaka, Zambia
Dr. Manuel De Araújo – Mayor, Quelimane, Mozambique
Mr. Mohamed Sefiani – Mayor, Chefchaouen, Morocco


ICLEI East Asia Regional Executive Committee

Mr. Liou Her-Ran – Deputy Mayor, New Taipei City Government, Chinese Taipei
Mr. Daisaku Kadokawa – Mayor, City of Kyoto, Japan
Mr. Dong Yeon KIM – Governor, Gyeonggi Provincial Government Republic of Korea
Mr. Euiseung Kim – Vice Mayor, Seoul Metropolitan Government, Republic of Korea
Ms. Weishu LI – Deputy Mayor, Changchun Municipal Government, China


ICLEI Europe Regional Executive Committee

Ms. Minna Arve – Mayor, Turku, Finland
Ms. Maider Etxebarria Garcia – Mayor, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Basque Country, Spain
Mr. Martin Horn – Lord Mayor, Freiburg, Germany
Mr. Lasse Frimand Jensen – Mayor, Aalborg, Denmark
Ms. Luísa Salgueiro – Mayor, Matosinhos, Portugal


ICLEI Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean Regional Executive Committee

Ms. Ginger M. Moxey – Minister, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Mr. Mauricio Vila Dosal – Governor, Yucatán, México
Mr. Jorge Alejandro Aldana Bardales – Mayor, Tegucigalpa, Central District, Honduras
Mr. Ricardo Quiñónez Lemus – Mayor, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Mr. Verny Gustavo Valerio Hernández – Mayor, San Rafael de Heredia, Costa Rica


ICLEI North America Regional Executive Committee

Ms. Niki Armacost – Mayor, Hastings-on-Hudson, NY, USA
Ms. Jeni Arndt – Mayor, Fort Collins, CO, USA
Ms. Barbara Buffaloe – Mayor, Columbia, MO, USA
Ms. Jillian Hudgins – Board member, City of Fredericton, NB, Canada
Mr. Ian McVey – Manager of Sustainability, Durham Region, ON, Canada


ICLEI Oceania Regional Executive Committee

Mr. HY William Chan – Councillor, City of Sydney, Australia
Mr. Francis Green – Mayor of Eutan Tarawaieta Council, Chair of Kiribati Local Government Association, Kiribati
Ms. Nuatali Nelmes – Lord Mayor, City of Newcastle, Australia
Ms. Anna Reynolds – Lord Mayor, City of Hobart, Australia
Ms. Amanda Stone – Councillor, Yarra City Council, Australia


ICLEI South America Regional Executive Committee

Mr. German Vladimir Chong Rios – Mayor, Provincial Municipality of Maynas, Peru
Mr. Axel Schmidt Grael – Mayor, Municipality of Niterói, Brazil
Mr. Pablo Javkin – Mayor, Municipality of Rosario, Argentina
Ms. Marjorie Kauffmann – Secretary of State for Environment and Infrastructure, State of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Mr. Cristian Eduardo Zamora Matute – Mayor, Cuenca Canton, Ecuador


ICLEI South Asia Regional Executive Committee

Mr. Adv. M. Anilkumar – Mayor, Kochi Municipal Corporation, India
Mr. Ugyen Dorji – Mayor, Thimphu, Bhutan
Dr. Salina Hayat Ivy – Mayor, Narayanganj City Corporation, Bangladesh
Smt. Naynaben Pedhadiya – Mayor, Rajkot Municipal Corporation, India
Mr. Bhim Prasad Dhungana – President, Municipal National Association of Nepal, Nepal


ICLEI Southeast Asia Regional Executive Committee

Ms. Datin Sapiah binti Haron – Mayor, Hang Tuah Jaya Municipal Council, Malaysia
Ms. Abigail Binay – Mayor, Makati City, Philippines
Mr. Alfredo M. Coro II – Mayor, Municipality of Del Carmen, Philippines

ICLEI World Secretariat
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Berlin Office
St. Oberholz ROS Team Room 4.02
Rosenthaler Str. 72a
10119 Berlin
Physical address:
Unit 1, 2nd Floor,
South Tower
Sable Park, 14 Bridge
Century City
Cape Town
South Africa
Tyger Valley, South Africa
ICLEI Africa Foundation
Ebène Junction, Quatre Bornes, Mauritius
North America
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
British Columbia Office
Victoria City Hall
1 Centennial Square
BC V8W 1P6
Québec Office
Montréal City Hall
275 Notre-Dame St E
QC H2Y 1C6
Central America & the Caribbean
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Eje Central Lazaro Cardenas 13
Building Miguel Abed, Floor 5 Of. 506 and 507,
Col. Centro, CP 06050 Del.
Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Marquês de Itu 70, 14° andar.
São Paulo, SP, Brasil
CEP 01223-000
Colombia Office
Carrera 53 N° 40A - 31,
Medellín, Antioquia – Colombia
Argentina Office
Boulevard Gálvez, 1150 Planta Alta.
Rosário, Santa Fé, Argentina
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
c, 3, Green Park Extension Road, Block B, Green Park Extension, Green Park, New Delhi, Delhi, India
Southern Center
Door No. 6-3-596/47/2
Sri Venkata Ramana Colony
Hyderabad 500 004
Andhra Pradesh
East Asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
Kaohsiung Capacity Center
4F. No.436, Daye N. Rd.
Xiaogang Dist.
Kaohsiung City 812
Taiwan (R.O.C.)
Korea Office
217-59 Kintex-ro, Ilsanseo-gu, Goyang-si, Gyeonggi-do 10390, Republic of Korea
Beijing Office
B1010 Xiaoyun Center, No. 15
Beijing 100125,
Southeast Asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
ICLEI Indonesia Project Office
Jl. Karbela Sel. No.46, RT.2/RW.4, Kuningan, Karet, South Jakarta City, Jakarta 12940, Indonesia
Oceania Secretariat
l8/225 Bourke St, Melbourne VIC 3000, Australia